Philadelphia Miniature 2017-Part 1 of 2

Philadelphia Miniature 2017-Part 1 of 2

This blog is back from its long vacation and just in time to review Philadelphia Miniaturia 2017, one of the long running miniature shows. I like this show not only because it is close to home, but also because it is smaller than some of the mega-shows (like those in Chicago), and I often get to catch up with friends there. But I won’t kid myself or you and will admit that this show gets smaller each year and many of the vendors now favor quarter-inch scale instead of the traditional one inch scale.

In the meantime, two cool things about this year’s Philadelphia Miniaturia: there were quite a few young artists and vendors and they made me realize that miniatures have an interesting future. I will write about them in Part 2 of this series.

Philadelphia Miniaturia had a nice range of vendors and for me was a great place to pick up a lot of building supplies, especially fabric and quarter scale kits.

 

The first vendor I want to feature is Maya Miniatures. She makes beautiful cakes and treats in one inch scale.

 

Acclaim Miniatures works with gold and silver at all scales and the quarter scale works were amazing.

 

Also in multiple scales were the animals and other creations of mini-gems. The detailed animals and figures were delightful.

More to come…

2 thoughts on “Philadelphia Miniature 2017-Part 1 of 2

  1. This is awesome, Dr. K! I’ll send everyone over here – I didn’t have the where-with-all to take photos like this for my blog, aka “show-brain.” Lol! It was great to see and hang with you! ❤

    Like

Leave a comment